Astrolabe Glossary and Notes


The zodiac is the band on the celestial sphere that forms the backdrop for the motions of the sun, the moon, and the five planets known to the ancients. The zodiac is divided into twelve zodiacal signs of 30°: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces. Each sign was named after a prominent constellation. The precession of the equinoxes has caused these constellations to shift out of the signs named for them. Below is a table showing the symbols of the zodiacal signs as well as their Latin and Arabic names:
MHS Home | Contact Us | ©2006 Museum of the History of Science