Place of the Earth

The Moon, Mercury, Venus, the Sun, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn occupy various levels of heaven numbered from one ("Lunae") to ten ("Primum Mobile"). Beyond the Primum Mobile is the "Empire of Heaven". Cosmographia retains a pre-Copernican, geocentric universe and all astronomical assumuptions in the book are based on this system. The Earth, at the center, is divided into the four Aristotelian elements: earth, water, air and fire. Each element occupies its appropriate space relative to the others.

click for larger image

Next Page

go back one page